The 17th edition of the FIBA World Championship for Women will take place in Turkey, between September 27 and October 5, 2014. The Turkish National Team will be making its World Championship. In hosting the tournament, Turkey will also become the first federation to host world and continental championships for both men and women in the last 12 years.

The FIBA World Championship for Women, which is the leading international basketball tournament for women's national teams, began in Chile in 1953. Every four years, the 16 best teams from FIBA's five continental zones (FIBA Europe, FIBA Africa, FIBA Asia, FIBA Americas and FIBA Oceania) come together to crown the world champion.

Only four countries have won titles in the history of the World Championship for Women. The USA has won a record eight gold medals. The Soviet Union recorded six titles, while Australia and Brazil have won one each.

2010 23 Sept. – 3 Oct. Czech Republic ABD Czech Republic Spain Yuko OGA (JPN)
2006 12 - 23 Sept. Brazil Australia Russia ABD Lauren Jackson
2002 14 – 25 Sept. China ABD Russia Australia Lauren Jackson
1998 26 May – 7 June Germany ABD Russia Australia Janeth Don Santos Arcain (BRA)
1994 2 – 12 June Australia Brazil China ABD Hortência de Fatima Marcari (BRA)
1990 12 -22 June Malaysia ABD Yugoslavia Cuba Hortência de Fatima Marcari (BRA)
1986  8 – 17 August Soviet Union ABD Soviet Union Canada Leonor Borell (CUB)
1983  24 June - 6 Aug. Brazil Soviet Union ABD China Hortência de Fatima Marcari (BRA)
1979 29 Apr. – 13 May Korea ABD Korea Canada Kerweed Marschal (NED) H. Fatima Marcari (BRA)
1975  23 Sept. - 4 Oct. Colombia Soviet Union Japan Czechoslovakia Nancy Lieto (COL)
1971 15 – 29 May Brazil  Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Brazil Lidia Ravazzoli (ARG)
1967 15 – 22 April Czechoslovakia  Soviet Union Korea Czechoslovakia Nilsa Gurcia (BRA)
1964 18 Apr. – 4 May Peru Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Bulgaria Ja Park Sin (KOR)
1959 10 – 18 Oct. Soviet Union Soviet Union Bulgaria Czechoslovakia Dagmar Hubalkova (TCH)
1957 13 – 26 Oct. Brazil ABD Soviet Union Czechoslovakia Edith Nunez (PAR)
1953 7 – 22 March Chile ABD Chile France Anne Marie Golchen (FRA)